So what happened this January? [January Wrap-Up]

Another new year, another reading challenge that I’ll probably fail.

No I’m just kidding. I already read 3 books and 3 novellas this month, so far so good!

I. WILL. NOT. FAIL. THIS. YEAR’S. GOODREADS. READING. CHALLENGE.

I read…

Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

Stealing Snow

rating:  4

Before the Snow (Stealing Snow novella)

Before the Snow (Stealing Snow, #0.1)

rating: 3

Queen Rising (Stealing Snow novella)

Queen Rising (Stealing Snow, #0.2)

rating:3

Dangerous Girls by Abigail Haas

Dangerous Girls

rating:5

Yellow Brick War by Danielle Paige

Yellow Brick War (Dorothy Must Die, #3)

rating: 3 12

Heart of Tin (Dorothy Must Die novella)

Heart of Tin (Dorothy Must Die, #0.4)

rating: 1

I did…

Book Reviews:

Cover Reveals:

I went to…

No book signings this month. Sigh. It’s for the best, I guess. Since the holidays just ended and most people just want to relax and take it slow after the holiday rush. Plus there’s also work.

I did go to Cranium with 2 of my friends.

It’s this cool cafe with lots of board and card games  for you to choose from.

S'mores! ❤

A post shared by danica • image vomit (@murielthesuriel) on

Their food’s great too! Most of them are snacks, which is perfect when you’re playing.

😈 @craniumtaft

A post shared by danica • image vomit (@murielthesuriel) on

Cranium is located at  D’ University Place Bldg, Leon Guinto St., Taft, Manila (in between Dagonoy St. and Estrada St.), Philippines. Click here for more info.

[new!] Films/Television:

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them (2016) / re-watch: 5

Image result for fantastic beasts and where to find them niffler

Ok as much as this movie is amazing, my rating is totally biased for this one because I love the Wizarding World of Harry Potter.

Storks (2016): 4 12

Related image

This is such a feel-good film filled with adorable babies, catchy songs, ANDY SAMBERG, and a very heartwarming ending.

Captain America: Civil War (2016) / re-watch: 3 12

Image result for captain america civil war fight scene

The film was cool and the fact that a lot of Marvel characters were in it made it even better. But then I asked my Mom what she thought of it and she said that it was a good film but it’s not really for children because the plot was dark. Which is actually true, seeing your favorite heroes try to kill each other isn’t really a great thing to witness… even on the big screen. I don’t recommend this film to kids at all.

Ant Man (2016): 4 12

Related image

I did not expect to be affected by an ant dying.

To be fair, it only affected me for a minute. But still. I completely underestimated this film.

Don’t Breathe (2016): 3 12

Image result for don't breathe 2016

This film was  downright suspenseful and thrilling. But the way some scenes were played out still made me ask a lot of questions.

The Accountant (2016): 4

Image result for the accountant

Ben Affleck did a great job. The ending was bittersweet. And I should probably learn martial arts when I get the chance because it will REALLY come in handy one day.

Bonus:

I won six ARCs, SIX, from Henry Holt Books and a copy of Carve the Mark from Fullybooked! Way to start a year, eh?

And that’s it for my January wrap-up!

Have you read/watched any of the books/films mentioned above? Let me know in the comments!

2 thoughts on “So what happened this January? [January Wrap-Up]

Leave a Reply

