[Book Review] Stealing Snow by Danielle Paige

No, I am not here for the “love square”.

Stealing Snow

Title: Stealing Snow
Author: Danielle Paige
Publication Date: September 20, 2016 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens 
Edition: Paperback
Language: English
Pages: 375
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retelling
Series: First book


First kisses sometimes wake slumbering princesses, undo spells, and spark happily ever afters.

Mine broke Bale.

Seventeen-year-old Snow has spent her life locked in Whittaker Psychiatric—but she isn’t crazy. And that’s not the worst of it. Her very first kiss proves anything but innocent…when Bale, her only love, turns violent.

Despite Snow knowing that Bale would never truly hurt her, he is taken away—dashing her last hope for any sort of future in the mental ward she calls home. With nowhere else to turn, Snow finds herself drawn to a strange new orderly who whispers secrets in the night about a mysterious past and a kingdom that’s hers for the taking—if only she can find her way past the iron gates to the Tree that has been haunting her dreams.

Beyond the Tree lies Algid, a land far away from the real world, frozen by a ruthless king. And there too await the River Witch, a village boy named Kai, the charming thief Jagger, and a prophecy that Snow will save them all.

AmazonBarnes&Noble |Book Depository

add-to-goodreads-button

THOUGHTS:

Slight spoilers.

I believe this is a retelling for Hans Christian Andersen’s classic tale, The Snow Queen. 


Just like Dorothy Must Die, I found myself not rushing to read the first few chapters and doing exactly the opposite when I got in the middle. The story and the pacing were okay, the story needed time (or should I say lots of pages) to build its way around my imagination and make it easy for me to imagine Algid.

“It had taken me years to work up the courage to kiss the boy  I loved. The boy I wasn’t even sure I liked had closed his lips on mine within a week.”

I didn’t like how the MC kept jumping from one place to another and having each guy from that place fall for her, it just felt a little funny for me that her main motive in the story is to save the boy she claims that she truly loves but fall for each guy she meets along the way. I mean there were just two guys, but still. This is just book one. Will there be more love interests in book two??? Because, no, I am not here for the “love square”. I’m here to see how her powers would improve and if what Margot said about her having more access to the elements is true. Not as to who Snow ends up with in the end.

Image result for annoyed gif

I think the characters needed more pages to grow on me. They just felt flat and weak for me at the moment. There were lots of characters, which I don’t mind, but there was too much drama, and maybe it’s just the author trying to give the readers a taste of what’s in store for the next books, that there’s more to come, and that in the end everything will be tied up in a big ol’ ribbon, but ALL the revelations felt too sudden and rushed for me.

I did love all the magical elements of this story. I’m a sucker for books with magic and witchcraft in them, and Stealing Snow sure has a lot. I especially loved the idea of Claret!

In the end, the story appealed to me, and I’m still anticipating the next installment of this series because, just like Dorothy Must Die, Stealing Snow left me hanging with its ending.

RATING:

COVER: 4/5
STORY: 4/5
CHARACTERS: 3/5
PACING: 3.5/5
ENDING: 4/5

OVERALL:

4

EXCERPT:

“I brought you some things,” Jagger said, and nodded toward the wardrobe.

A scarlet red dress hung in the wardrobe. It was beautiful and the same style as the dresses the other Robber girls wore. I remembered the joy I’d felt when I’d gotten my first dress from Gerde. But I liked this one, too. I changed behind the room’s dressing screen. The garment didn’t fit. The arms were too long and the gaping bustline reminded me that I was just south of a B-cup.

“I think I need something a little less…”

“Just give it a minute,” Jagger said almost impatiently. I looked down as the fabric began to move on its own. The sleeves of the dress shortened. The bust was ruched in and lifted and separated and made things look a little larger than they actually were. The excess fabric cinched itself along my waist, and the material that grazed the floor hemmed itself up.

Astounded, I exited from behind the screen.

“See? A perfect fit.”

“This dress is amazing!”

“You’re overdue for a little surprise after all those years in Whittaker,” he said in jest.

But he was wrong. I’d had enough surprises in the last week to last my whole life. I didn’t want any more. But I guessed that was not something I could prevent.

Leave a Reply

