[Book Review] Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

KEEP YOUR EYES ON THE ROAD!

Before I Fall raises thought-provoking questions about love, death, and how one person’s life can affect so many others. For fans of Jay Asher and Gayle Forman, I highly recommend this book.

 

Before I Fall

Title: Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Publication Date: October 25, 2010 by HarperCollins
Edition: Paperback
Language: English
Pages: 470
Genre: YA, Contemporary, Mystery
Series: Standalone


For popular high school senior Samantha Kingston, February 12—”Cupid Day”—should be one big party, a day of valentines and roses and the privileges that come with being at the top of the social pyramid. And it is…until she dies in a terrible accident that night.

However, she still wakes up the next morning. In fact, Sam lives the last day of her life seven times, until she realizes that by making even the slightest changes, she may hold more power than she ever imagined.

 AmazonBarnes&Noble | Book Depository

add-to-goodreads-button

THOUGHTS:

> some spoilers, but not really <

To be honest, Lauren Oliver is one of my favorite authors. She’s a bit underrated for me. The first novel I read that she wrote was Panic and I really liked it (I should probably make a review about it too). So it was no surprise that this novel captivated me as well.

The story is about Samantha Kingston and her life as one of the “popular seniors” at their school.

Image result for mean girls gif

God, I couldn’t stand Samantha Kingston and her friends at the beginning of the story.

So on February 12, Cupid Day, they go to this party and get into a car accident on their way home…but instead if waking up in the hospital, Sam wakes up on her bed, on the morning of February 12. Again. And that’s where the real story begins.

The story was so gripping and well-written that it only took me 1 day to finish it. It was good from beginning to end, even though the characters were pain in the arses.

Samantha is one hell of a bitch at the beginning that I almost put down the book to think if I should continue the story, she was quite unbearable.

Image result for mean girls bitch gif

And so was Lindsay. She was more unbearable. But the story played out well that by the end of the book, not only did I start to understand them, I sympathized them. Mostly Lindsay.

Juliet Sykes was a really interesting character for me. She was the only character in the story I really paid attention to. I knew there was more to what meets the eye with her.

” The last laugh, the last cup of coffee, the last sunset, the last time you jump through a sprinkler, or eat an ice-cream cone, or stick your tongue out to catch a snowflake. You just don’t know. “

The character development was good, but with Sam, I knew it had to happen. So it really didn’t take me long to figure out what she had to do to stop everything that was happening. It was bittersweet, but I understood why it was necessary.

“I shiver, thinking how easy it is to be totally wrong about people-to see one tiny part of them and confuse it for the whole, to see the cause and think it’s the effect or vice versa”

A gripping novel about what it really means to live. What it means to make sacrifices, and to have the power to change people’s lives, for better or worse.

RATINGS:

COVER: 3.5/5
STORY: 4/5
CHARACTERS: 4/5
PACING: 4/5
ENDING: 4/5

OVERALL:

4 12

One thought on “[Book Review] Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver

  1. I really liked this one too! I agree with you about Lauren Oliver, she is one of my favorites too. And I think you are so right about the way everything turned out. Love the quotes you picked, too. Lauren’s writing is so great! Fabulous review, so glad you enjoyed it too!

    Like

Leave a Reply

