[Book Review] Dear Killer by Katherine Ewell

This book had plenty of bad decisions in it I swear.

A sinister psychological thriller that explores the thin line between good and evil, and the messiness of that inevitable moment when life contradicts everything you believe.

Dear Killer

Title: Dear Killer
Author: Katherine Ewell
Publisher:  Katherine Tegen Books
Publication Date: April 1, 2014
Edition: Paperback
Language: English
Pages: 359
Genre: Young Adult, Mystery, Thriller
Series: Standalone


Kit takes her role as London’s notorious “Perfect Killer” seriously. The letters and cash that come to her via a secret mailbox are not a game; choosing who to kill is not an impulse decision. Every letter she receives begins with “Dear Killer,” and every time Kit murders, she leaves a letter with the dead body. Her moral nihilism and thus her murders are a way of life—the only way of life she has ever known.

But when a letter appears in the mailbox that will have the power to topple Kit’s convictions as perfectly as she commits her murders, she must make a decision: follow the only rules she has ever known, or challenge Rule One, and go from there.

Amazon | Barnes&Noble | Book Depository

add-to-goodreads-button

THOUGHTS:

I have mixed feelings.

This book is a lot to take in, and it left me hanging and confused, for reasons I cannot tell because: SPOILERS.

I’m a sucker for handwritten/calligraphy fonts, so this cover really caught my eye at the bookstore.

Dear Killer is about Kit who is also known as London’s “Perfect Killer”. Just like her mother, Kit excels at what she does: killing people and never getting caught. She was trained by her mother, who was also an amazing killer, not as famous as her though. But as excitingly dangerous their life as killers are, they must also live a normal life to avoid suspicions. Kit’s mom chose to live a luxurious life with a husband who doesn’t seem to care for her, or them at all. While Kit did try to hide her other life by living a dull one, things start to get messy (and more interesting) when a letter offers her a challenge. And she just loves challenges *rolls eyes*, maybe too much.

Kit’s more of an assassin than a killer for me.

She provides her clients a “mailbox” where they can send in their letters along with their payments. Every letter indicates who wants who killed, and why. She then decides if it’s a yes or a no. Of course, all of this is well-planned and hidden from the police.

How can she execute these crimes without getting caught? I would leave that for her to tell you when you read it 😂

Image result for wink gif

Let’s talk about Kit for a sec.

Kit’s okay. I guess she comes off as cocky and arrogant in the beginning, but as the story progresses, you see and understand how smart and skilled she truly is. You see why she’s very confident in what she does. I hated her character development. Not because of the things she did and didn’t do but because she became way too indecisive for me.

The other character developments ranged from “wow, you finally did it, good for you” to “what the hell happened to you???“, but I like the fact that each of them had a moment to shine. It wasn’t always about Kit.

Dear Killer only picked up its pace halfway through the story, let’s be honest though, not everyone would wait that long. Some would put it down and label it as “DNF”. But I guess her book really piqued my interest, so I kept reading. But the ending… it felt a bit rushed for me.

(I think) It’s the first time I’ve read something like this, and it turned out okay. I definitely won’t forget this book that easily.

I just hate Kit’s indecisiveness. I don’t want to give away too much because I made the mistake of flipping the pages to the end just to spoil myself a little but ended up spoiling myself A LOT. *sigh* but didn’t change my reading experience though. I still enjoyed this book.

Dear Killer is about morality and how it shapes a person’s life. And bad decisions. This book had plenty of bad decisions in it I swear. But the story worked for me. How does  a seventeen-year-old girl like Kit keep committing the perfect crimes? Go see for yourselves.

RATING:

Leave a Reply

