The Twenty One Pilots Book Tag!

Thank you, Stephen Chbosky. I had no idea I could develop a useful skill while reading your book: Ugly crying in silence.

I saw this tag that was posted by Inah of The Bibliophile Confessions, and decided to do it as well because: TWENTY ONE PILOTS.


Image result for spoiler alert gifs

⚠ CONTAINS SPOILERS FOR CATCHING FIRE, FANGIRL & WE WERE LIARS 


 STRESSED OUT

A popular book that you have wanted to read for a long time that everyone has been talking about?

Image result for illuminaeIlluminae by Amie Kauffman & Jay Kristoff

This book has been recommended to me by so many readers, but seeing it on bookstagram was what definitely made me want to read it. If that link doesn’t convince you how physically beautiful this book is, I don’t know what will. 

THE HYPE OF THIS BOOK WAS EPIC. 50% saying it was amazing and the other 50% saying it was a flop. But one of these days, I’ll be able to strike this off my TBR list and find out for myself.


CAR RADIO

A book that contained issues you felt you connected to on a personal level

Coraline by Neil GaimanImage result for coraline book cover

Reading this as a kid, it was just another story. But when I got older and reread it, I realized that I was, in some ways, like Coraline.

I mean, who doesn’t want to live in a world designed exactly how you like it? But beware, you’ll never know it’s a trap until it’s too late. When you enter a world where everything and everyone agrees with you, it’s hard not to stay in it.


RIDE

A book/series that you wanted to never end

Aside from Harry Potter?

The Beautiful Creatures Series by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

 I remember reading this whole series in a week. Ah, the good ol’ days when I can still read 4-5 books in a week.

Just like Harry Potter, I would love to read more about Ethan, Lena (I’d love to know the extent of her powers) and their chaotic world. And as if hearing my plea, I got the next best thing! A spin-off! And what better character to focus on than the craziest caster in town? 😉 *cough* Ridley *cough*


HOLDING ON TO YOU

A book/series that you have loved since your childhood

Nancy Drew by Carolyn KeeneImage result for nancy drew book

This is the book that started it all for me.

My love for mystery was definitely evident back then. I used to watch CSI with my Mom whenever I can,  and when I discovered Nancy Drew while idling inside one of our local bookstores, I knew I had to read it.


TEAR IN MY HEART

A book that made you feel all the emotions

Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen ChboskyImage result for perks of being a wallflower book

This book made me furious (than i already am) at insensitive people, laugh a lot of times, question certain things, it made me love mixtapes…but most of all, this book made me cry. Like, ugly cry.

Thank you, Stephen Chbosky. I had no idea I could develop a useful skill while reading your book: Ugly crying in silence (to avoid waking up my family in the middle of the night).


FAIRLY LOCAL

What is your personal favorite underground book/series?

Image result for memoirs of a teenage amnesiac bookMemoirs of a Teenage Amnesiac by Gabrielle Zevin

UNDERRATED, this book is underrated.

And maybe it’s one of the reasons I like it. So underrated that it took me 2 years before getting myself a copy 😂

But it was worth it. The moment I read this book’s synopsis, I

had a feeling that I was gonna like it. I was right.


ODE TO SLEEP

A book that was full of twists and turns and kept you on the edge of your seat

Catching Fire by Suzanne CollinsImage result for catching fire book

 Probably the best book out of the series for me. Catching Fire did not disappoint with it’s twists and turns. From bringing the chosen victors back to the arena, figuring out how the arena works, the deaths, the surprising allies, up until the start of the rebellion that will change their lives forever,

Image result for finnick odair wink gif

Catching Fire was indeed a book that kept me on the edge of my seat. And the movie’s just as good might I add 😉


GONER

A book character that you fell in love with from the beginning

Levi of Fangirl by Rainbow RowelImage result for fangirl book cover

It only took me a chapter to like Levi. There’s nothing to hate, really. He wasn’t “the hot guy”or “the bad boy with a heart of gold”, he was a college student/Starbucks barista with great socializing skills. Lol

And him being too real was what made me like & hate Rainbow Rowell all at the same time. *sigh*


MIGRAINE

One book that gave you a headache to read

We Were Liars by E.LockhartImage result for we were liars book cover

This book gave me a headache as bad as Cady’s.

Image result for yzma headache gif

The thing is, I think the way they promoted the book (blurbs and whatnot) was to blame. It was like, “PLOT TWIST! PLOT TWIST! COME GET YOUR PLOT TWIST! This book has a plot twist you’ll never see coming!” and we started reading it being aware that a plot twist is coming and it might just be around the corner, and then…BAM! Nope not yet. So you read a few pages more…BA-nope. Still not the plot twist. See my point? You can never truly enjoy a book when all you can think about is when the plot twist is gonna surprise you, you’re gonna dive into this novel and keep theorizing every small detail you can just to discover the “twist” before it surprises you. And not only will it make the book’s pacing slow for you, but it will also ruin the book’s premise.


WE DON’T BELIEVE WHAT’S ON TV

A book that you love that most people seem to hate

Panic by Lauren OliverImage result for panic book cover

As much as I respect every reader’s opinion about a book, I can’t seem to figure out why a lot of readers see this book as boring, flat, messy & A RIP-OFF! I mean, come on. We know better than to use that word to describe a book. We all know that, yes, some stories will remind us of other stories, but we also know that no book is completely the same. So I stand by what I said the first time I read Panic:

“It’s an insanely good & underrated book!”


So there you go! And, like Inah, I have no idea who to tag as well so everyone who feels like doing this book tag is tagged! 😂


And also,

6 thoughts on “The Twenty One Pilots Book Tag!

  1. Ugly crying for Perks is definitely not something to be ashamed about! I take my copy of the book everywhere with me and I honestly don’t care if I have an outburst of feels because this is Charlie we are talking about. Haha.

    I didn’t get a headache while reading We Were Liars, but I did keep my guard up. But that plot twist though. What the hell. 😂

    Also, hope you read Illuminae soon! It’s one of the coolest books there is. I’m here if you want to talk about it.

    This is such a beautiful tag. It’s so poetic like Twenty One Pilots. I’m awful at keeping with tags, but I might do this one as well.

    Like

    1. Omg yes! I try to take it with me whenever I can too, you can just open it anywhere and start reading because it’s literally like reading someone’s journal but with his consent. 😂

      I wouldn’t let the year pass without reading Illuminae! The hype is too intriguing to ignore.
      It was definitely a fun tag, I hope you find the time to do it soon Bianca 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

